Random Ramblings of Emmie's

On one of my previous posts, I put up some info on ITP. Hmm this is becoming a chain letter (see aforementioned previous post). Anywayz… That previous post was inspiration [aka I stumbled on] the most commmon hereditary bleeding disorder: von Willebrand Disease (VWD). Since I am lazy (as most of you prolly already know since 1. I’m tapering off on my vigilant daily postings and 2. I always seem to have a dozen links in one post and 3. so many of my words are taken directly from the aforementioned links) here’s something from the link:

Von Willebrand disease is caused by a deficiency of von Willebrand factor. Von Willebrand factor helps blood platelets clump together and stick to the blood vessel wall, which is necessary for normal blood clotting. There are several types of Von Willebrand disease.

Von Willebrand disease affects men and women equally. Most cases are mild. Bleeding may occur after surgery or when you have a tooth pulled. Aspirin and other nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) can make this condition worse. Bleeding may decrease during pregnancy.

A family history of a bleeding disorder is the primary risk factor. In women with heavy or prolonged menstrual bleeding, von Willebrand is more common in Caucasian women than in African American women. The majority of women with heavy or prolonged menstrual bleeding do NOT have Von Willebrand disease.

I was going to point out, Hey! no wonder the dentist asked if I was on any meds before pulling my wisdom teeth out! 😀

Since I’m interested in the drugs of treatment, the site says desamino-8-arginine vasopressin (DDAVP) helps in certain types of VWD in raising the concentration of von Willebrand factor. Some may be given Alphanate (antihemophilic factor) prior to [invasive] surgical procedures to reduce the bleeding during said invasive surgical procedure (no brackets this time…. I mean, what are surgical procedures if not invasive?) Oh! Others may be given blood plasma or certain factor VIII preps to reduce bleeding as well!

Leave a comment